IEEE Cedar Rapids Section


IEEE Cedar Rapids Section

The January 2015 issue of the Corona is now available!

Click here to view/download: January 2015 Corona

Power Transformer Design and Manufacturing

Tuesday, February 24th 5-8:30PM @ Schneider Electric

Sponsered by:



Speaker Ronnie Minhaz, P.E. will be presenting on Transformer Design and Design Parameters as well as Tranformer Manufacturing Processes.

There is no cost to this event and 4 Professional Development Hours will be available.

More information / registration here.

Downloadable flyer: IEEEPESFebMeetingFlyer150224


The Cedar Rapids Section is now on LinkedIn! Click the logo and join the community!


Skyworks in Cedar Rapids is hiring for multiple positions!  Check out the Local Job Postings page for more information.




vincedelongA major contributor to the health of the Cedar Rapids Section of IEEE was lost with the death of Vince DeLong on March 30, 2013.  Besides being a valued engineer at Collins Radio/Rockwell International, he should be remembered for giving the Cedar Rapids Section a major kickstart back in 1975.  The section had decayed into inactivity … there were no meetings and no active leadership.  It is my understanding that Jack Cosgrove, not wanting to see the demise of IEEE, leaned on Vince to form an operating committee and start having meetings.  At any rate, Vince came on board and assembled a slate of officers to get the section moving again.  He tapped me to be Programs Chair, and we began having quality programs over the lunch hour as well as in the evening.  We offered door prizes to encourage better attendance, and meals were often subsidized for IEEE members.  It didn’t hurt that Vince’s Longbranch was near Rockwell, which made noon luncheons convenient for the many members at Rockwell.  There was also more encouragement and support from Rockwell in the form of in-kind services and time management.   I even remember Jack Cosgrove coming to an IEEE Ice Breaker, providing a welcome to potential new members from the company president and encouraging more support from members.

I know you’ll enjoy the following articles written by former associates of Vince, Merrill Ludvigson and Phil Topf. 

Remembering Vince DeLong – Phil Topf

Vince DeLong – Merrill Ludvigson

Gayle Buroker, Section History Chair

Future City IEEE Special Award Winners

future city 2014 winners

Future City IEEE Special Award Winners: Most Innovative Power Distribution or Communications System:

Capital City from Roosevelt Middle School, Cedar Rapids.  Team members Miya Stahle, Elizabeth Mohr, Hannah Carr, Teacher Jen Erwin, mentor Jeff Weissenberger.